Welcome Message

Welcome to the Basic Law homepage.

The Basic Law was adopted at the Third Session of the Seventh National People's Congress on 4 April 1990 and was officially promulgated on the same day. The Basic Law is a constitutional document of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) which sets out clearly the country's basic policies regarding Hong Kong. It enshrines within a legal document the important concepts of "one country, two systems", "Hong Kong people administering Hong Kong" and a high degree of autonomy. It also prescribes the various systems to be practised in the HKSAR and sets out the blueprint for the HKSAR's future development.

The Basic Law has been in effect since 1 July 1997. It safeguards the prosperity and stability of Hong Kong and also protects the rights and freedoms of Hong Kong residents. It is important for Hong Kong people, the Mainland residents, as well as people in other countries to get to know the Basic Law.

We have set up this homepage to provide not just the full text of the Basic Law, but also some useful facts about the promulgation of the Basic Law, information about the implementation of the Basic Law, publicity materials that promote understanding of the Basic Law as well as links to some related websites. We hope that this homepage would deepen your understanding of the Basic Law, a document closely related to our lives, and enhance your understanding of the constitutional document of historical and international significance which makes good on the country's promise to Hong Kong and forms the foundation of Hong Kong's success.

Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee

Basic Law Promotional VideosMore
Top
Previous slide Next slide
close
close
The Constitution and Basic Law online game is held from 30 April to 29 July 2021. Visit https://cmabonlinegame.hk/, answer questions on the Constitution and the Basic Law correctly and play mini-games; you may have a chance to win gifts. (The game is in Chinese only.)

The Constitution and Basic Law online game

欢迎辞

欢迎您浏览《基本法》网站。

《基本法》于1990年4月4日由第七届全国人民代表大会第三次会议通过,并获正式颁布。《基本法》是香港特别行政区的宪制性文件,它以法律的形式,明确阐述并落实国家对香港的基本方针,订明「一国两制」、「港人治港」和高度自治等重要理念,亦订明了在香港特别行政区实行的各项制度,勾划了香港特区未来的发展蓝图。

《基本法》于1997年7月1日起生效。它保障了香港的繁荣稳定,亦保障了市民的权利和自由。认识《基本法》,对香港市民和内地居民,以至海外人士,也极为重要。

在这个网站,您不但可以浏览《宪法》及《基本法》全文、颁布和落实《基本法》过程的相关资料,以及推广认识《基本法》的宣传制作,并可连系到其他相关网址。希望这个网站能让您加深了解与您我生活息息相关的《基本法》,加深认识这份落实国家对香港的承诺、奠定香港成功基础,具有历史意义和国际意义的宪制性文件。

基本法推广督导委员会

基本法宣传短片更多
页首
Previous slide Next slide