Some Facts about the Basic Law - index.html


[ BACKGROUND ]
[ THE DOCUMENT ]
[ DRAFTING PROCESS ]
[ BLUEPRINT FOR HKSAR ]

bullet 01 General Principles
bullet 01 Relationship between the Central Authority and the HKSAR
bullet 01 Protection of Rights and Freedoms
bullet 01 Political Structure
bullet 01 Economy
bullet 01 Education,Science,Culture,Sports,Religion,Labour and Social Services
bullet 01 External Affairs

[ INTERPRETATION & AMENDMENT OF THE BASIC LAW ]

Background

The Sino-British Joint Declaration on the Question of Hong Kong (The Joint Declaration) was signed between the Chinese and British Governments on 19 December 1984. The Joint Declaration sets out, among other things, the basic policies of the People's Republic of China (PRC) regarding Hong Kong. Under the principle of "One Country, Two Systems", the socialist system and policies shall not be practised in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) and Hong Kong's previous capitalist system and life-style shall remain unchanged for 50 years. The Joint Declaration provides that these basic policies shall be stipulated in a Basic Law of the HKSAR.

The Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (The Basic Law) was adopted on 4 April 1990 by the Seventh National People's Congress (NPC) of the PRC. It came into effect on 1 July 1997.



The Document

The Basic Law is the constitutional document for the HKSAR. It enshrines within a legal document the important concepts of "One Country, Two Systems", "a high degree of autonomy" and "Hong Kong People administering Hong Kong". It also prescribes the various systems to be practised in the HKSAR.

The Basic Law consists of the following sections -

a.The full text of the Basic Law which comprises a total of nine chapters with 160 articles;
b.Annex I, which sets out the method for the selection of the Chief Executive of the HKSAR;
c.Annex II, which sets out the method for the formation of the Legislative Council of the HKSAR and its voting procedures; and
d.Annex III, which sets out the national laws to be applied in the HKSAR.


Drafting Process

The Basic Law was drafted by a Committee composed of members from both Hong Kong and the Mainland. A Basic Law Consultative Committee formed purely by Hong Kong people was established in 1985 to canvass views in Hong Kong on the drafts.

The first draft was published in April 1988, followed by a five-month public consultation exercise. The second draft was published in February 1989, and the subsequent consultation period ended in October 1989. The Basic Law was formally promulgated on 4 April 1990 by the NPC, together with the designs for the flag and emblem of the HKSAR.



Blueprint for HKSAR

Major provisions which set out the basic policies of the PRC regarding the HKSAR are described below.

General Principles

bullet 01 The HKSAR has a high degree of autonomy and enjoys executive, legislative and independent judicial power, including that of final adjudication. (BL Article 2)

bullet 01 The executive authorities and legislature of the HKSAR shall be composed of permanent residents of Hong Kong. (BL Article 3)

bullet 01 The socialist system and policies shall not be practised in the HKSAR, and the previous capitalist system and way of life shall remain unchanged for 50 years. (BL Article 5)

bullet 01 The laws previously in force in Hong Kong, that is, the common law, rules of equity, ordinances, subordinate legislation and customary law shall be maintained, except for any that contravene the Basic Law and subject to any amendment by the legislature of the HKSAR. (BL Article 8)

Relationship Between the Central Authority & the HKSAR

bullet 01 The Central People's Government (CPG) shall be responsible for the defence and the foreign affairs relating to the HKSAR. (BL Articles 13-14)

bullet 01 The CPG authorizes the HKSAR to conduct relevant external affairs on its own. (BL Article 13)

bullet 01 The HKSARG shall be responsible for the maintenance of public order in the Region. (BL Article 14)

bullet 01 National laws shall not be applied in the HKSAR except for those listed in Annex III to the Basic Law. Laws listed in Annex III shall be confined to those relating to defence and foreign affairs as well as other matters outside the limits of the autonomy of the HKSAR. The laws listed in Annex III shall be applied locally by way of promulgation or legislation by the HKSAR. (BL Article 18)

bullet 01 No department of the CPG and no province, autonomous region, or municipality directly under the Central Government may interfere in the affairs which the HKSAR administers on its own in accordance with the Basic Law. (BL Article 22)

Protection of Rights and Freedoms

bullet 01 The HKSAR shall protect the right of private ownership of property in accordance with law. (BL Article 6)

bullet 01 All Hong Kong residents shall be equal before the law. Permanent residents of the HKSAR shall have the right to vote and the right to stand for election in accordance with law. (BL Articles 25-26)

bullet 01 The freedom of the person of Hong Kong residents shall be inviolable. No Hong Kong resident shall be subjected to arbitrary or unlawful arrest, detention or imprisonment. Arbitrary or unlawful search of the body of any resident or deprivation or restriction of the freedom of the person shall be prohibited. Torture of any resident or arbitrary or unlawful deprivation of the life of any resident shall be prohibited. (BL Article 28)

bullet 01 Hong Kong residents shall have, among other things, freedom of speech, of the press and of publication; freedom of association, of assembly, of procession, of demonstration, of communication, of movement, of conscience, of religious belief, and of marriage; and the right and freedom to form and join trade unions, and to strike. (BL Articles 27-38)

bullet 01 The provisions of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and international labour conventions as applied to Hong Kong shall remain in force and shall be implemented through the laws of the HKSAR. (BL Article 39)

Political Structure

The Executive Authorities

bullet 01 The Chief Executive of the HKSAR shall be a Chinese citizen of not less than 40 years of age who is a permanent resident of the HKSAR with no right of abode in any foreign country and has ordinarily resided in Hong Kong for a continuous period of not less than 20 years. (BL Article 44)

bullet 01 The Chief Executive of the HKSAR shall be selected by election or through consultations held locally and be appointed by the CPG. The method for selecting the Chief Executive shall be specified in the light of the actual situation in the HKSAR and in accordance with the principle of gradual and orderly progress. The ultimate aim is the selection of the Chief Executive by universal suffrage upon nomination by a broadly representative nominating committee in accordance with democratic procedures. (BL Article 45)

bullet 01 The Government of the HKSAR (HKSARG) must abide by the law and be accountable to the Legislative Council of the HKSAR: it shall implement laws passed by the Council and already in force; it shall present regular policy addresses to the Council; it shall answer questions raised by members of the Council; and it shall obtain approval from the Council for taxation and public expenditure. (BL Article 64)

The Legislature

bullet 01 The Legislative Council of the HKSAR shall be constituted by election. The method for forming the Legislative Council shall be specified in the light of the actual situation in the HKSAR and in accordance with the principle of gradual and orderly progress. The ultimate aim is the election of all the members of the Legislative Council by universal suffrage. (BL Article 68)

bullet 01 The powers and functions to be exercised by the Legislative Council of the HKSAR mainly include:

bullet 01 enact, amend or repeal laws;

bullet 01 examine and approve budgets introduced by the government;

bullet 01 approve taxation and public expenditure;

bullet 01 raise questions on the work of the government;

bullet 01 debate any issue concerning public interests;

bullet 01 endorse the appointment and removal of the judges of the Court of Final Appeal and the Chief Judge of the High Court. (BL Article 73)

The Judiciary

bullet 01 The power of final adjudication of the HKSAR shall be vested in the Court of Final Appeal of the HKSAR, which may as required invite judges from other common law jurisdictions to sit on the Court of Final Appeal. (BL Article 82)

bullet 01 The courts of the HKSAR shall exercise judicial power independently, free from any interference. (BL Article 85)

bullet 01 The principle of trial by jury previously practised in Hong Kong shall be maintained. Anyone who is lawfully arrested shall have the right to a fair trial by the judicial organs without delay and shall be presumed innocent until convicted by the judicial organs. (BL Articles 86-87)

bullet 01 The HKSAR may, through consultations and in accordance with law, maintain juridical relations with the judicial organs of other parts of the PRC, and they may render assistance to each other. With the assistance or authorization of the CPG, the HKSARG may also make appropriate arrangements with foreign states for reciprocal juridical assistance. (BL Articles 95-96)

Economy

bullet 01 The HKSAR remains a free port, a separate customs territory and an international financial centre. Its markets for foreign exchange, gold, securities and futures shall continue. There shall be free flow of capital. (BL Articles 109/112/114/116)

bullet 01 The Hong Kong dollar, as the legal tender in the HKSAR, shall continue to circulate. The authority to issue the currency shall be vested in the HKSAR. (BL Article 111)

bullet 01 The HKSAR shall pursue the policy of free trade and safeguard the free movement of goods, intangible assets and capital. (BL Article 115)

bullet 01 The HKSAR shall be authorized by the CPG to continue to maintain a shipping register and issue related certificates under the name "Hong Kong, China". Private shipping businesses and shipping-related businesses and private container terminals in the HKSAR may continue to operate freely. (BL Articles 125/127)

bullet 01 The HKSAR shall continue the previous system of civil aviation management in Hong Kong and keep its own aircraft register. The HKSAR may, under the authorization of the CPG, negotiate and conclude air services agreements with foreign states or regions. (BL Articles 129-134)

Education, Science, Culture, Sports, Religion, Labour and Social Services

bullet 01 The HKSARG shall on its own formulate policies on the development and improvement of education, science and technology, culture, sports, social welfare and labour. (BL Articles 136-147)

bullet 01 Non-government organizations in fields such as education, science, technology, culture, art, sports, the professions, medicine and health, labour, social welfare and social work as well as religious organizations in the HKSAR may maintain and develop relations with their counterparts in foreign countries and regions and with relevant international organizations. They may, as required, use the name "Hong Kong, China" in the relevant activities. (BL Article 149)

External Affairs

bullet 01 The HKSAR may on its own, using the name "Hong Kong, China", maintain and develop relations and conclude and implement agreements with foreign states and regions and relevant international organizations in the appropriate fields, including the economic, trade, financial and monetary, shipping, communications, tourism, cultural and sports fields. (BL Article 151)

bullet 01 Representatives of the HKSARG may, as members of delegations of the PRC, participate in international organizations or conferences in appropriate fields limited to states and affecting the HKSAR, or may attend in such other capacity as may be permitted by the CPG and the international organization or conference concerned, and may express their views, using the name "Hong Kong, China". The HKSAR may also , using the name "Hong Kong, China", participate in international organizations and conferences not limited to states. (BL Article 152)

bullet 01 The application to the HKSAR of international agreements to which the PRC is or becomes a party shall be decided by the CPG, in accordance with the circumstances and needs of the HKSAR, and after seeking the views of the HKSARG. International agreements to which the PRC is not a party but which are implemented in Hong Kong may continue to be implemented in the HKSAR. The CPG shall, as necessary, authorize or assist the HKSARG to make appropriate arrangements for the application to the HKSAR of other relevant international agreements. (BL Article 153)


Interpretation And Amendment Of The Basic Law

bullet 01 The power of interpretation of the Basic Law shall be vested in the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress (SCNPC). The SCNPC shall authorize the courts of the HKSAR to interpret on their own, in adjudicating cases, the provisions of the Basic Law which are within the limits of the autonomy of the HKSAR. The courts of HKSAR may also interpret other provisions of the Basic Law in adjudicating cases. However, if the courts of the HKSAR, in adjudicating cases, need to interpret the provisions of the Basic Law concerning affairs which are the responsibility of the CPG, or concerning the relationship between the Central Authorities and the HKSAR, and if such interpretation will affect the judgments on the cases, the courts of the HKSAR shall, before making their final judgments which are not appealable, seek an interpretation of the relevant provisions from the SCNPC through the Court of Final Appeal of the HKSAR. (BL Article 158)

bullet 01 The power of amendment of the Basic Law shall be vested in the NPC. No amendment to the Basic Law shall contravene the established basic policies of the PRC regarding Hong Kong. (BL Article 159)

《基本法》简介 - index.html


[ 背景 ]
[ 有關文件 ]
[ 起草過程 ]
[ 香港特別行政區的藍圖 ]

bullet 01 總則
bullet 01 中央和香港特別行政區的關係
bullet 01 保障權利和自由
bullet 01 政治體制
bullet 01 經濟
bullet 01 教育、科學、文化、體育、宗教、勞工和社會服務
bullet 01 對外事務

[ 基本法的解釋和修改 ]

背景

在1984 年12 月19 日,中英兩國政府簽署了《中華人民共和國政府和大不列顛及北愛爾蘭聯合王國政府關於香港問題的中英聯合聲明》(下稱《聯合聲明》),當中載明中華人民共和國對香港的基本方針政策。根據"一國兩制"的原則,香港特別行政區不會實行社會主義制度和政策,香港原有的資本主義制度和生活方式,保持五十年不變。根據《聯合聲明》,這些基本方針政策將會規定於香港特別行政區基本法內。

《中華人民共和國香港特別行政區基本法》(下稱《基本法》)在1990 年4 月4 日經中華人民共和國第七屆全國人民代表大會(下稱全國人民代表大會)通過,並已於1997 年7 月1 日生效。


有關文件

《基本法》是香港特別行政區的憲制性文件,它以法律的形式,訂明"一國兩制"、"高度自治"和"港人治港"等重要理念,亦訂明了在香港特別行政區實行的各項制度。

《基本法》包括以下章節-
(a) 《基本法》正文,包括九個章節,160 條條文;
(b) 附件一,訂明香港特別行政區行政長官的產生辦法;
(c) 附件二,訂明香港特別行政區立法會的產生辦法和表決程序;及
(d) 附件三,列明在香港特別行政區實施的全國性法律。


起草過程

負責起草《基本法》的委員會,成員包括了香港和內地人士。而在1985 年成立的基本法諮詢委員會,成員則全屬香港人士,他們負責在香港徵求公眾對基本法草案的意見。

1988 年4 月,基本法起草委員會公布首份草案,基本法諮詢委員會隨即進行為期五個月的諮詢公眾工作。第二份草案在1989 年2 月公布,諮詢工作則在1989 年10 月結束。《基本法》連同香港特別行政區區旗和區徽圖案,由全國人民代表大會於1990 年4 月4 日正式頒布。


香港特別行政區的藍圖

《基本法》為香港特別行政區勾劃了發展藍圖。下文載述中華人民共和國對香港特別行政區的基本方針政策的主要條文。

總則

bullet 01 香港特別行政區實行高度自治,享有行政管理權、立法權、獨立的司法權和終審權。(參考《基本法》第2 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區的行政機關和立法機關由香港永久性居民組成。(參考《基本法》第3 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區不實行社會主義制度和政策,保持原有的資本主義制度和生活方式,五十年不變。(參考《基本法》第5 條)
bullet 01 香港原有法律,即普通法、衡平法、條例、附屬立法和習慣法,除同《基本法》相抵觸或經香港特別行政區的立法機關作出修改者外,予以保留。(參考《基本法》第8 條)

中央和香港特別行政區的關係

bullet 01 中央人民政府負責管理香港特別行政區的防務和外交事務。(參考《基本法》第13 至14 條)
bullet 01 中央人民政府授權香港特別行政區自行處理有關的對外事務。(參考《基本法》第13 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區政府負責維持香港特別行政區的社會治安。(參考《基本法》第14 條)
bullet 01 全國性法律除列於《基本法》附件三者外,不在香港特別行政區實施。任何列於附件三的法律,限於有關國防、外交和其他不屬於香港特別行政區自治範圍的法律。凡列於附件三的法律,由香港特別行政區在當地公佈或立法實施。(參考《基本法》第18 條)
bullet 01 中央人民政府所屬各部門、各省、自治區、直轄市均不得干預香港特別行政區根據《基本法》自行管理的事務。(參考《基本法》第22 條)

保障權利和自由

bullet 01 香港特別行政區依法保護私有財產權。(參考《基本法》第6 條)
bullet 01 香港居民在法律面前一律平等。香港特別行政區永久性居民依法享有選舉權和被選舉權。(參考《基本法》第25 至26 條)
bullet 01 香港居民的人身自由不受侵犯。(參考《基本法》第28 條)
bullet 01 香港居民享有言論、新聞、出版的自由,結社、集會、遊行、示威、通訊、遷徙、信仰、宗教和婚姻自由,以及組織和參加工會、罷工的權利和自由。(參考《基本法》第27 至38 條)
bullet 01 《公民權利和政治權利國際公約》、《經濟、社會與文化權利的國際公約》和國際勞工公約適用於香港的有關規定繼續有效,通過香港特別行政區的法律予以實施。(參考《基本法》第39 條)

政治體制

行政機關

bullet 01 香港特別行政區行政長官由年滿四十周歲,在香港通常居住連續滿二十年並在外國無居留權的香港特別行政區永久性居民中的中國公民擔任。(參考《基本法》第44 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區行政長官在當地通過選舉或協商產生,由中央人民政府任命。行政長官的產生辦法根據香港特別行政區的實際情況和循序漸進的原則而規定,最終達至由一個有廣泛代表性的提名委員會按民主程序提名後普選產生的目標。(參考《基本法》第45 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區政府必須遵守法律,對香港特別行政區立法會負責:執行立法會通過並已生效的法律;定期向立法會作施政報告;答覆立法會議員的質詢;徵稅和公共開支須經立法會批准。(參考《基本法》第64 條)

立法機關

bullet 01 香港特別行政區立法會由選舉產生。立法會的產生辦法根據香港特別行政區的實際情況和循序漸進的原則而規定,最終達至全部議員由普選產生的目標。(參考《基本法》第68 條)

bullet 01 香港特別行政區立法會的職權主要包括:

bullet 01 制定、修改和廢除法律;
bullet 01 根據政府的提案,審核、通過財政預算;
bullet 01 批准稅收和公共開支;
bullet 01 對政府的工作提出質詢;
bullet 01 就任何有關公共利益問題進行辯論;
bullet 01 同意終審法院法官和高等法院首席法官的任免。(參考《基本法》第73 條)

司法機關

bullet 01 香港特別行政區的終審權屬於香港特別行政區終審法院。終審法院可根據需要邀請其他普通法適用地區的法官參加審判。(參考《基本法》第82 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區法院獨立進行審判,不受任何干涉。(參考《基本法》第85 條)
bullet 01 原在香港實行的陪審制度的原則予以保留。任何人在被合法拘捕後,享有盡早接受司法機關公正審判的權利,未經司法機關判罪之前均假定無罪。(參考《基本法》第86 至87 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區可與中華人民共和國其他地區的司法機關通過協商依法進行司法方面的聯繫和相互提供協助。在中央人民政府協助或授權下,香港特別行政區政府可與外國就司法互助關係作出適當安排。(參考《基本法》第95 至96 條)

經濟

bullet 01 香港特別行政區保持自由港、單獨的關稅地區和國際金融中心的地位,繼續開放外匯、黃金、證券、期貨等市場和維持資金流動自由。(參考《基本法》第109/112/114/116 條)
bullet 01 港元為香港特別行政區法定貨幣,繼續流通。港幣的發行權屬於香港特別行政區政府。(參考《基本法》第111 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區實行自由貿易政策,保障貨物、無形財產和資本的流動自由。(參考《基本法》第115 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區經中央人民政府授權繼續進行船舶登記,並以" 中國香港" 的名義頒發有關證件。香港特別行政區的私營航運及與航運有關的企業,可繼續自由經營。(參考《基本法》第125/127 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區繼續實行原在香港實行的民用航空管理制度,並設置自己的飛機登記冊。香港特別行政區在中央人民政府的授權下,可與外國或地區談判簽訂民用航空運輸協定。(參考《基本法》第129 至134 條)

教育、科學、文化、體育、宗教、勞工和社會服務

bullet 01 香港特別行政區自行制定有關發展和改進教育、科學技術、文化、體育、社會福利和勞工的政策。(參考《基本法》第136 至147 條)
bullet 01 香港特別行政區的教育、科學、技術、文化、藝術、體育、專業、醫療衛生、勞工、社會福利、社會工作等方面的民間團體和宗教組織可同世界各國、各地區及國際的有關團體和組織保持和發展關係,各該團體和組織可根據需要冠用" 中國香港" 的名義,參與有關活動。(參考《基本法》第149 條)

對外事務

bullet 01 香港特別行政區可在經濟、貿易、金融、航運、通訊、旅遊、文化、體育等領域以" 中國香港" 的名義,單獨地同世界各國、各地區及有關國際組織保持和發展關係,簽訂和履行有關協議。(參考《基本法》第151 條)
bullet 01 對以國家為單位參加的、同香港特別行政區有關的、適當領域的國際組織和國際會議,香港特別行政區政府可派遣代表作為中華人民共和國代表團的成員或以中央人民政府和上述有關國際組織或國際會議允許的身份參加,並以" 中國香港" 的名義發表意見。香港特別行政區可以" 中國香港" 的名義參加不以國家為單位參加的國際組織和國際會議。(參考《基本法》第152 條)
bullet 01 中華人民共和國締結的國際協議,中央人民政府可根據香港特別行政區的情況和需要,在徵詢香港特別行政區政府的意見後,決定是否適用於香港特別行政區。中華人民共和國尚未參加但已適用於香港的國際協議仍可繼續適用。中央人民政府根據需要授權或協助香港特別行政區政府作出適當安排,使其他有關國際協議適用於香港特別行政區。(參考《基本法》第153 條)

基本法的解釋和修改

bullet 01 《基本法》的解釋權屬於全國人民代表大會常務委員會。全國人民代表大會常務委員會授權香港特別行政區法院在審理案件時對《基本法》關於香港特別行政區自治範圍內的條款自行解釋。香港特別行政區法院在審理案件時對《基本法》的其他條款也可解釋。但如香港特別行政區法院在審理案件時需要對《基本法》關於中央人民政府管理的事務或中央和香港特別行政區關係的條款進行解釋,而該條款的解釋又影響到案件的判決,在對該案件作出不可上訴的終局判決前,應由香港特別行政區終審法院請全國人民代表大會常務委員會對有關條款作出解釋。(參考《基本法》第158 條)
bullet 01 《基本法》的修改權屬於全國人民代表大會。《基本法》的任何修改,均不得同中華人民共和國對香港既定的基本方針政策相抵觸。(參考《基本法》第159 條)